ACSUAA elects new officers

08-04-16 0 comment

The Aloha Chapter-Silliman University Alumni Association elected its new set of officers for 2016-2017. The election of officers for the chapter happens every two years. The president and the rest of the officers serve for a two-year term. “The new set of officers were elected last July 2015 and the induction was held in December 2015,” informed Otilio “OG” Gimang Jr., chapter president.

The officers are:

President:                    Otilo “OG” Gimang

1st Vice-President:      Jean Tantano

2nd Vice-President:     Erwin Quinanola

Secretary:                    Meda Magdamo Palencia

Treasurer:                    Alice Sy Chuang

Auditor:                        Ivy Dael Quinanola

PRO:                            Nella Villanueva Gimang


Spiritual Advisers:  Rev. Alan Patadlas and Rev. Salome Pascubillo Patadlas

Board of Directors:

Marilyn Cenas Heintz, past president

Sam de la Pena, past president

Luzette Somera de la Pena, past president

“We are excited about our chapter’s directions with these new set of officers under my leadership. We have planned several activities here in Hawaii and the Philippines as well,” said Gimang. Their first major activity is to host the First Annual Golf Tournament in October 2016. It is a fund-raising event to help fight hunger.
Next year, ACSUAA will also be hosting Tipon 2017, a gathering among Sillimanians all over the world. “Hosting Tipon is a huge responsibility for the group in sponsoring and initiating more activities in Hawaii and the Philippines in the years to come,” added Gimang. “The new set of officers are aggressively pursuing ways to raise funds and be actively involved in ways to improve our community as well as our alumni relations,” he concluded. (by Raymond Vincent Cutillar, MassCom intern)